Location: 450 W. Texas Avenue
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 730, Waskom, TX 75692
Hours: 8:30 to 4:30, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
Texas law DOES NOT ALLOW A MUNICIPAL JUDGE to dismiss a violation. A defendant must either be found NOT GUILTY at trial, or complete a driving safety court or probation (if eligible). You must contact the Court for these instances.
Persons aged 16 or under are required by law to physically appear in open court with a parent or guardian.
To plead NOT GUILTY, use the Traffic Plea Form found below and return by mail or fax. A trial date will be set , and you will be given 2 to 3 week notice of your court date.
To plead GUILTY or NO CONTEST, use the Traffic Plea Form form found below.
You may mail a cashiers check or money order (PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED) for the fine amount to the above address. Receipts will be faxed for an additional $1.00.
You may also pay by phone , 1-888-507-3442 or by clicking the Pay Online link below.
Stay connected until you get an Authorization Code. YOUR TRANSACTION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED IF YOU DO NOT GET THIS NUMBER.
Your payment will not be posted until the next business day.
- Traffic Plea Form
- Pay Online The processing company will charge a service/convenience fee for using their system.
The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.
This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.
- Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash. Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record. For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted from the individual’s total points.
- A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance. Points are not assessed for these offenses. A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction. An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.
DPS offers programs that may reduce or waive surcharges. For more information about DRP, along with details on available surcharge discounts and other surcharge assistance programs, please visit, www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/drp.htm.